Tips to Defeat the Laundry Monster

Laundry is my nemesis. Kind of like Dr. Doofenschmirtz and Perry the Platypus. What’s that? You don’t have children under the age of ten and have no idea who Dr. Doofenschmirtz is? Or you are an awesome mom and don’t let your children watch tv? Cool, good for you. Let’s move on.WheretheLaundry

Laundry – Three tips from the ultimate laundry procrastinator. If I can do it, you can do it.

1. You know how everyone says you should do one load a day and it will make your laundry life a breeze? It’s a great idea. It doesn’t work for me. I simply will not remember to start/move/fold/put away a load of laundry every single day. What usually happens? I start a load right before lunch time when I remember that I should have done it that morning, and then I completely forget about it until that night when my husband asks where every single pair of his pajama pants are. Um, wet and stale smelling in the washing machine…So this is what I do instead. Pick two or three days you will be home all day and do two or three loads (how many will depend on the size of your family, of course). You must do this more than once a week or the laundry will pile up in intimidating, scary piles. Note – This obviously won’t work as well if you aren’t a stay at home mom. If you don’t have two or three days you can devote to laundry, I suggest you try a load a day. May the force be with you.

2. Fold ’em up straight from the dryer. Do not toss them in a laundry basket to fold later. This almost always ends in disaster. Plus, they are so nice and cuddly to fold when they are warm. The other plus side? Less wrinkles! Which means less ironing – ha, I say that like I actually iron clothes…ha ha.

3. PUT THEM AWAY. Yes, I am yelling. I mean it. You do not want to go to all that work just to have your children/husband go rummaging through your nice, neat piles to find something. Because you know what happens? That’s right, they all fall over and suddenly it’s a big heap of mess that will never, ever find its way to a drawer.

Also, be sure to sort through your children’s clothes on a regular basis. Do not keep washing clean clothes that get thrown on the floor just because they are too small.

So there ya go. It’ s what’s been working for me, I hope it works for you. And remember, if you fall off the wagon (out of the laundry basket?), just get caught up and try again!

Leave a Reply

