What I Learned From Grandma

What I Learned From Grandma

My grandmother passed away last week. It’s the first time someone close to me has died, and I have to admit it’s still a little surreal. I feel blessed to have had her in my life, and I am so grateful my children were  able to know her as well. She became a believer late in her life,  and I am overjoyed to know she is with the Lord now. It’s moments like these I truly understand being overwhelmed by His mercy. He loved her and He took her – because of Him, I will see her again. I am so grateful.

Today, for reasons unknown to me, I have decided to write about a few of the things she taught me. Things I hope to pass to my own daughter, and hopefully my future grandchildren.

1. She taught me how to sew, and boy – she was meticulous. That horrible little seam ripper was my constant companion through many of my first projects, and all because Grandma did not believe in tossing something in the trash and starting over.

2. She taught me how water flowers, pick veggies, and weed a garden. When I was growing up her yard was stocked full of flowers and veggies. She had a huge vegetable garden, and we would weed it together. For hours…and hours.

3. She taught me how to make a snapdragon flower talk.  You squeeze the back of the flower and it will open its ‘mouth’.

4. She taught me how to perfectly measure flour and how to scrape every last drop of batter off the beaters.

5. She taught me how to make jam, can peaches, and listen eagerly for that satisfying ‘ping’ when they seal.

6. She taught me how to be loyal – Specifically to an old, worn out, red potholder and a set of aged cookie sheets.

7. She taught me how to shell shrimp, crack a crab leg, and perfectly pull every single little bone from a trout. She also taught me how to make a lobster tail dance

8. She taught me the importance of crossword puzzles and trivia. “They keep your mind sharp,” she would say, and she was sharp until close to the very end.

9. She taught me that Christmas packages are more special when tied with a ribbon, and they always were.

10. She taught me how much it hurts to lose someone you love. I miss her so much.

One thought on “What I Learned From Grandma”

Leave a Reply

