How to Dehydrate Strawberries – Chocolate Strawberry Trail Mix Recipe

About six months ago my daughter up and decided she was going to hate strawberries. What?!? I thought it was a phase. Two or three days later and she’d be back to normal. Uh…no. The girl won’t touch them, but I did make a lovely discovery last week. She likes ’em dried.

Image

My father and stepmother got me this super fabulous dehydrator last Christmas, and I feel like I haven’t really used it enough to make it feel like part of the family. Poor thing. Luckily, I ordered eight pounds of strawberries with my regular Bountiful Basket contribution, and I decided to dry a bunch of them. I’ve dehydrated strawberries before, but I made a life changing discovery this time around. Use an egg slicer to cut soft fruits in perfectly even slices. Seriously, wow.

DSC_0242DSC_0248

It’s super easy after you get them cut. Lay your strawberry slices evenly on your drying racks, set your dehydrator somewhere between 135 – 145 degrees, and dry for 4 to 8-ish hours. That’s right – I said ‘ish. You’ll just have to keep an eye on them when they get close to dry. You want them leathery, but not sticky.

DSC_0251

Now you might be wondering what you do with a dehydrated strawberry. You eat them. Or, if you’re my daughter, you and eat and eat and eat them! But I’ll tell you right now, they are lovely in this decadent trail mix:

DSC_0266

Chocolate Strawberry Pecan Trail Mix:

  • 2 Cups Dehydrated Strawberries
  • 1 Cup Toasted Pecans
  • 1/2 Cup Dark Chocolate Chips

Mix it up! You can add more strawberries, or you could add more chocolate. You could even add more pecans – it’s really up to you! Enjoy!

DSC_0254

Leave a Reply

