Pickin’ Pears – When to Pick a Perfect Pear

We moved into our house in May. I was ecstatic when I found out there were fruit trees in the backyard – two apples trees. Those apple trees didn’t produce a thing… no blossoms, no fruit – nothin’. However, I was very pleasantly surprised when I found a teeny,little pear tree growing next to our shed. Like a good fruit tree should, it put on pears.

DSC_0070
Aren’t they cute?!? I took this picture about a month ago. They weren’t ready to pick yet, but they were already getting that pretty red blush.

I scoured the internet for info on identifying these pears – just to make sure there wasn’t some variety of crazy poisonous pears – I don’t know. Maybe. You never know, right? Anyway, I found out these were definitely eating pears, and they are probably Seckels.

Why am I sharing all this with you? Because in my research I found a couple of handy things to know if you have a pear tree growing in your backyard.

1. Pears should be picked before they are ripe. If they ripen on the tree they get gritty, mealy, and…well, gross.

2. Pear are ready to pick when the fruit separates easily from the tree when tilted upright.

3. If you find a bunch of pears have fallen off your tree…you might be a little late. Pick them right away!

4. Ripen in a dark, cool place. Some varieties need to be chilled.

I found two pears on the ground, but I think I’m alright. I picked most of them today, leaving the stubborn ones to mature a bit longer. I had a good saucepot full of these cute, little fruits. It was a good day!

I’m thinking about making pear butter when they ripen, but my son was looking at them like a hungry chipmunk. Not sure if they’ll last long enough to make the butter…

Leave a Reply

