Chocolate Zucchini Bread Recipe

My son was offended when I told him I was going to make chocolate zucchini bread. He was truly horrified that I was going to defile perfectly good zucchini bread with chocolate. He’s not a huge chocolate kid. Honestly, he’s not a huge dessert kid, but it’s growing on him.

My daughter? Yeah, she was pleased….

ChocolateZucchiniBread

Anyway, I found the original recipe on Taste of Home’s website, and I’m pretty sure it was one I cut out from my Grandma’s magazine back in 1996. I only made two tiny changes; I used white whole wheat flour and I cooked it in a bundt pan. It turned out great. Both my daughter and my son loved it.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

2 Cups Sugar

1 Cup Vegetable Oil

3 Eggs

3 Tsp Vanilla Extract

2  Cups Whole Wheat White Flour

1/2 Cup Cocoa Powder

1 Tsp Sea Salt

1 Tsp Baking Soda

1 Tsp Cinnamon

1/4 Tsp Baking Powder

2 Cups Shredded Zucchini

 

1. In a large bowl, beat the sugar, oil, eggs, and vanilla until blended. Combine the flour, cocoa powder, salt, baking soda, cinnamon, and baking powder in a separate bowl. Gradually beat into the wet ingredients until blended. Stir in zucchini. Transfer to greased Bundt Pan.

2. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 – 55 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Cool before slicing.

DSC_0024

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Zucchini Bread Recipe”

Leave a Reply

