Rainy Day Portraits

I begged my sister-in-law to let me borrow her children to practice taking portraits. My own munchkins are, shall we say, slightly tired of being the guinea pigs on the other side of the lens. When I say slightly, I mean they groan and act like I’ve just asked them to scrub the kitchen floor with a toothbrush.

I was so excited to whisk my niece and nephew away to take their pictures. I had been looking up portrait ideas on Pinterest, I’d been studying my camera like a mad person, and I was ready.  Well, we woke up to rain. Of course we did, we live in Colorado, and as you may have heard – our state is washing away. Now, we live in Western Colorado, so we’re not in a flooding area, but we’re still getting crazy amounts of rain.

Needless to say, I was not going to cancel our photo shoot. I was not. I was ready to buy umbrellas, wrap my camera in a trash bag, and see what we could come up with. But you know what? We went for a quick coffee stop, and when we came out…it wasn’t raining. When we reached our destination, it still wasn’t raining!

I got to take pictures! It was so much fun! And the clouds made some great, soft light. Now I just have to find someone else who’s willing to let me take their pictures!

DSC_0197

DSC_0238
The sun peaked out from behind the clouds!

DSC_0228DSC_0129DSC_0153DSC_0358DSC_0392DSC_0504

 

2 thoughts on “Rainy Day Portraits”

Leave a Reply

