NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month

I have two novel manuscripts that are underway–one’s at sixty thousand words and the other is at thirty-three. I have dozens of ideas scratched down, and another dozen short story ideas. I have wanted to be a writer since I was in seventh grade. I even did a correspondence writing course shortly after my son was born. I have never finished a manuscript. Not one.

Check out NaNoWriMo for yourself! Just click the picture.

Three days ago I took the scariest leap ever. I signed up for NaNoWriMo. Starting November 1st, I have one month to start a new fifty thousand word manuscript and finish it. Thirty days. More accurately, I will have thirty evenings. During the day I have children to educate, feed, and entertain. Can I do it? Yes, I can. Will it be the newest big thing? Will it immediately be swept up by a large publisher? No, I really doubt it. That’s not the point though. The point is to finish. Good intentions and good follow-through.

Leave a Reply

