Elderberry Syrup in My Tea

I’ve been feeling a little run down for the last week, and I’ve also been consuming entirely too much dairy for a person with a casein intolerance (which is the most obnoxious thing ever). So yesterday, I basically felt horrible. My digestive system was going haywire and I was worn out. To top it all off, this morning I woke up with a sniffly nose and my chest felt heavy. So what’s going on? Well, I haven’t been taking care of myself. I’ve been eating a bunch of junk, despite my resolution to eat clean.

Yesterday was the final straw. I’d already decided to do a detox the beginning of this week, and I woke up this morning feeling determined. I’m not a huge fan of the word detox. It makes me think of crash diets and drinking nothing but grapefruit juice for days. That’s not at all what I’m doing. You can take a look at it here. If I feel run down, I do plan to add in some lean meat at dinner.

What’s my next step to feeling better? Elderberries. These things are amazing. Now, I’m not a doctor, and I’m not giving you medical advise, but take a look here and here to read some information on the immune-system-boosting power these little berries have.

What do I do with elderberries? Well, you don’t want to eat them fresh–they will make you horribly sick to your stomach. Luckily, I didn’t find that out first hand. I make syrup out of dried berries and, when I’m starting to feel sick, I drink two teaspoons in my tea four times a day. It’s yummy, and last time I had a cold, I was better in three days. Nice.

Here’s Monterey Bay Spice Co. Elderberry Syrup Recipe. They have it posted on a YouTube video, but I wrote it down so I don’t have to watch it every time I want to make it:

1/2 Cup Dried Elderberries

1 Cinnamon Stick

5 Cloves

1 tsp fresh grated ginger or 1/2 tsp dry ginger

2 cups water

1 cup raw, unfiltered honey

Combine the elderberries, cinnamon stick, cloves, ginger, and water in a small saucepan and simmer until the liquid is reduced by half. Strain the mixture, and then when cooled to warm, stir in the honey. The original recipe has you cook the honey in with the berries, but I prefer to add it at the end.

Quick side note – Monterey Bay Spice Co’s website is herbco.com and not spiceco dot com. Trust me, you don’t want to accidentally type in the wrong one. On the upside, I realized I needed to take a look into our family security settings, which apparently were not working. Ha ha ha….oh.   

4 thoughts on “Elderberry Syrup in My Tea”

  1. you make me laugh! 🙂 Sounds good with the elderberries! Sorry not feeling up to par! We have had this crud going around school and we each have had it already! Never knew about elderberries- hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

