Homemade Strawberry Syrup Recipe for Strawberry Milk and More

Have you ever looked at the ingredients on the bottle of strawberry syrup? I did, and then I wished I hadn’t. My son absolutely loves strawberry milk, but after we ran out of the only bottle I’ve ever purchased, I didn’t buy any more. He asked for some yesterday morning. When I told him we were out, he asked me to make some. I have never thought to make strawberry syrup, which is kind of silly because I make elderberry syrup all the time.

StrawberrySyrup

It was very easy to make, and though I didn’t make a large batch this time, I’m assuming it would can well. Here you go: Homemade Strawberry Syrup.

Ingredients:

1 lb of strawberries

1 cup of sugar or honey (I used turbinado sugar)

1 tbsp lemon juice

1. Cut the stems off your strawberries and then cut into quarters. Toss into a small saucepan. Add just enough water to cover the bottom of the pan.

2. Cook on high heat and then turn to medium once it starts to boil. Cook, stirring constantly, for 5 minutes.

3. Mash the berries.

4. Strain the juice and berries through a mesh strainer. Make sure to ‘squish’ out all the juice before you discard the pulp.

5. Transfer the juice (it will be about 1 cup) back to the saucepan and add sugar. Cook over medium heat, stirring to dissolve the sugar. Boil 1 minute and then remove from heat. (If you choose to use honey instead of sugar, simply stir it into the juice–no need to boil it in.)

6. Let cool slightly and then add the lemon juice.

7. Transfer to your jar or container.

Fun ways to use strawberry syrup:

1. In milk

2. In herbal teas (any of the Celestial Seasonings berry teas would be fabulous)

3. Add a few tablespoons to a glass filled with ice, and then fill with sparkling water for a yummy strawberry soda.

4. Over pancakes and waffles

5. In oatmeal

6. Over ice cream

7. Mix with your favorite vinegar to make a strawberry vinaigrette dressing

8. Drizzle over quick breads

9. Drizzle over fruit pies or crisps

10. Whip with cream cheese to make a strawberry dip for graham crackers

Note: Since this strawberry syrup doesn’t contain food coloring, your strawberry milk will not be pink. This is not a problem for us, especially since I was trying to stay away from the dyes. If you have a picky eater that demands pink strawberry milk–I totally understand that–feel free to add a few drops of food coloring.

Now that we’ve made strawberry, just think of the possibilities! Raspberry! Blueberry! Blackberry! Oh my.

One thought on “Homemade Strawberry Syrup Recipe for Strawberry Milk and More”

Leave a Reply

