Sew an Orthopedic Dog Bed!

A few weeks ago we went to one of our local pet stores to look for a dog bed for Dudley. We weren’t too impressed. Most everything was way too small, and the beds that came close to large enough were crazy expensive. I’m not paying $80.00 for a dog bed. I’m just not. And since we’re getting our Pyrenees puppy in a few weeks, we knew we were going to want a couple of them.

FoamDogBed5
He didn’t want his picture taken. I snapped two pictures, and then he wouldn’t even look at me!

Instead, I decided to make a couple dog beds. The bed we liked most at the pet store was labeled orthopedic. After a little inspection, we saw it was filled with a couple layers of egg crate foam. Joann sells this foam in sizes twin to king. We picked up the full size knowing that it would be enough for a large bed for Dudley and a medium size puppy bed for our baby girl. We took advantage of a 40% off coupon, and it dropped the price down to about fifteen dollars for the foam.

FoamDogBed

We bought two colors of canvas, maroon for Dudley and pink for the puppy, and then we bought some super soft minky fabric in white. I figured Dudley leaves white hair everywhere, so a white top would be best. That was a bad idea. Dudley, in fact, does shed white hair, but he tracks in tons of mud this time of year. If I had it to do again, I would definitely buy tan minky. We also picked up a couple long robe zippers so I could make the covers washable.

FoamDogBed2

The materials cost about sixty five dollars, which is a lot, but it’s still cheaper than one bed.

I made Dudley’s bed first. I measured out the size I wanted and cut two layers of foam. After that, I laid my foam out on the canvas and cut 3 1/2 inches around it. Then I moved the foam to my minky and cut 1/2 an inch around it.

After the fabric was cut, I cut 3 1/2 inch squares out of each corner of the canvas.

FoamDogBed3

Once each corner was cut, I stitched the cut squares together, forming the sides of the dog bed. After that, I added the zipper, and then sewed the minky to the canvas.

I serged all my edges so that it wouldn’t fray when washing, but you don’t have to do that if you don’t want to. After that, I stuffed the foam inside the cover, and I was done! The foam is a little tricky to work with. It sticks to itself and the fabric, but eventually I got it.

Dudley loves his bed. If he’s inside, he’s on it. I gotta tell ya, it makes me pretty happy to see him love it so much. I  probably would have cried if he’d snubbed it…

FoamDogBed4
He really didn’t want his picture taken. And please forgive the floor. It needs a good mopping; as I mentioned earlier, he’s been tracking in copious quantities of mud.

A few notes:

I did not pre-wash the canvas for Dudley’s bed, and I definitely should have. It shrunk a bit the first time I washed it. Not cool. I pre-washed the fabric for the puppy bed, and I would recommend it.

Dudley’s foam pieces are just stacked on top of each other. With the puppy’s bed, I decided to tie the foam together in the corners and in a few spots down the middle to keep it from shifting while I stuffed her bed (just like tying a quilt). This worked great.

FoamDogBed6
Puppy Bed!

FoamDogBed7

One thought on “Sew an Orthopedic Dog Bed!”

Leave a Reply

