A Gentle Answer Turns Away Wrath

“A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.” – Proverbs 15:1

AGentleWord

When I first read this verse, or more likely the first time this verse soaked in, it was on a poster in my aunt and uncle’s laundry room. We were on vacation and staying with them, and I’d just moved some clothes over to the dryer. I remember looking at it, and having this grand epiphany. Of course! These are words to live by.

You know what? They are. Oh my, are they ever. There are also really, really hard to follow.  Easy to remember, hard to follow. 

My son, my sweet son, is like a volcano.  When he’s upset he has massive bursts of anger, and then–just like that–he’s fine. But oh, help me, I have to get past the explosion without losing my cool as well. You see, I’m a volcano too. I think we all are in a way, but some of us are a little more fiery than others.

He’s vocal, and loud, and stubborn, and sometimes it’s really hard not to snap back.  Sometimes he’s just trying to get me to snap back. I know, I see it in his eyes, and I remember doing it to my mother when I was young.

Those times when I keep my cool and answer with a gentle answer, and with prayer those times are becoming much more frequent, he cools a little too.  It’s hard for him, I know. I remember, but he’s growing so much.

God is working in his life, and it’s amazing to watch. Sometimes it’s painful, but in a good way. It’s also scary that imperfect, flawed me is his mother. I’m so grateful we have the Word to guide us, because without it, I’d be completely lost.

4 thoughts on “A Gentle Answer Turns Away Wrath”

  1. As you know we have had this going for many years! I am even using it now in my classroom with some explosive, frustrating children- and it works- so diffuses a situation. BUT so hard at times to remember- so wish it was my always “go to” default!! love you all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

