First Year Growing Tomatillos

After a long and turbulent early spring, my garden is finally in, and it seems to be thriving. I’m growing all the veggies I started in this post, plus a few (couple dozen) more I couldn’t resist from the nursery. This must be our year for peppers, because we walked out with four chili peppers, one Big Jim pepper, one cherry pepper, and six various kinds of bell peppers–and that doesn’t count the twelve I started from seed! We also brought home a four-pack of tomatillos. I have never in my life grown, or know anyone who grows, tomatillos. Jake had a tomatillo sauce at a Mexican restaurant in Denver once, and loved it. So we thought, why not?

Tomatillo

So far the tomatillos are the stars of the garden. They have tripled their size and are already starting to bloom.

Tomatillo2

My heirloom tomatoes are close behind, and the Early Start tomatoes I started from seed are right behind them.

A little tip for growing tomatoes–pull off a few of the bottom leaves and plant them deep in the soil. Their furry little stem will sprout roots and by mid-summer you will have more tomatoes than you know what to do with! I’ve heard you can do this with tomatillos as well, but I haven’t tested it.

This is one of my Early Start tomatoes. With the weather as crazy as it was this spring, they had a bit of a rough start. It's warmed up and they're doing great now!
This is one of my Early Start tomatoes. With the weather as crazy as it was this spring, they had a bit of a rough start. It’s warmed up and they’re doing great now!

And look-a friendly garden visitor!!! Unfortunately, it’s resting on a little weed that sprouted up right next to one of my tomatoes.

LadyBug

 

 

Leave a Reply

