Camping Recipes – Homemade Hot Chocolate Mix Using Real Ingredients

***Update–I’ve changed the recipe. I’ll keep the old one on here underneath my changes.***

Hot chocolate is a fairly simple drink–milk, sugar, cocoa powder, a little salt, and maybe a dash of vanilla. My kiddos drink tons of it during the winter, and I don’t mind mixing it up on the stove for them. However, that’s not so easy to do when you’re camping. I’m not packing a whisk with me, if you know what I mean.

We used to buy instant cocoa and take it with us, and then I looked at the ingredients. What in the world is all that junk in there for? This is what was in our cocoa mix in the cabinet: sugar, whey, corn syrup solids, cocoa (processed with alkali), nonfat milk, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, contains 2% or less of: whey protein concentrate, salt, sodium caseinate, dipotassium phosphate, emulsifier (mono-and diglycerides), arficial flavor. 

Um, no. Just no.

So here ya go–my recipe. There are others out there with pudding mix and coffee creamer in them, and I’m sure they’re decadent and delicious, but that kind of defeats my purpose at this time, so mine is a little more straight forward. Not that I have a problem with an occasional pudding mix, but we drink hot chocolate often. In fact, we should probably try to cut back. But not today!

Hot Chocolate Mix:

4 cups dry milk

1 cup sugar (we like turbinado)

1 cup cocoa powder

1/2 tsp of salt

To Make Mix:

Mix everything together and store it in an airtight container.

For Each Serving:

Add 1/4 – 1/3 cup mix to each mug (more or less depending on the size of the mug)

Stir in hot water.

Optional: Add a splash of half and half to each cup. 

I hope you enjoy it! I’ll be adding more camping recipes soon.

***Old recipe I had posted was 3 cups dry milk, 1 1/2 cups sugar, 1 cup cocoa powder***

2 thoughts on “Camping Recipes – Homemade Hot Chocolate Mix Using Real Ingredients”

Leave a Reply

