Pattern Review – Butterick See & Sew B5939

We have been back from my cousin’s wedding in Texas for a week now, and I think we’re getting back into the flow of things. The trip was great, even if it was a little short.

My cousin’s wedding was gorgeous, but I didn’t get any pictures. Weston was ring bearer, Chelsea was flower girl, and I was in the house party as a candle lighter–which I found out I’m really bad at,  by the way.  Apparently I can’t get a wick to light when there’s a bunch of people watching. Oh, well, I got ’em in the end!

A few months ago I wrote this post trying to decide what pattern to use for my dress. At that time I didn’t know I was going to be in the house party. When my cousin asked if I would, that made picking out fabric much easier. We were all to be in mint.

At first, I thought I might buy a dress. Not as easy to find mint around here as I thought, though I am seeing a bunch of it in stores now (of course). I realized I was going to have to make it or order one online. The idea of ordering one in made me nervous; I’m very picky about the way things fit.

When I went to Joann fabrics, the pattern table was busy. While Chelsea and I waited for a couple spots to clear up, I noticed the See and Sew rack by the pattern cabinets. I was browsing,  not expecting much, when I found a pattern I really liked. I usually stick with McCall’s and Simplicity patterns with a few Vogue tossed in now and then, but I have only sewn one See and Sew.  Since the nightgown I made turned out well, I decided to go for it.

Here’s the pattern I chose:

See and Sew B5939 (Butterick)

 

I made the dress with the fuller skirt, but I left off the sleeves. It went together very nicely, though I did have to take in several inches off the waist.  That’s pretty common with me and patterns (and why I didn’t want to buy a dress online).

I also wanted a bodice in lace, so once I sewed it all together, I cut the skirt away at the waistline, added a lace overlay to the top, and then stitched it up again. It worked great.

This is the best part–the entire dress, including pattern and notions, was only $21.00.  The special occasion fabric was on sale for 50% off and the pattern was only $2.99.

This picture was taken after we got home, and even though we hung it up, it got wrinkled the night of the wedding and in the car home. It’s not the best picture, but it will give you an idea of how it turned out.

HousePartyDress

2 thoughts on “Pattern Review – Butterick See & Sew B5939”

  1. Aww- this just make me miss you all- it was not long enough! Loved loved the dress. You did awesome on it!! (and on the candles by the way). And I will send pics – starting to get some piecemeal from different sources! love you all!

    Like

    1. Pictures would be awesome! I brought my camera to the ceremony, but I wanted to watch, so I didn’t take any! Jake did get that one video of Weston dancing with Abby, though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

