Scrivener Review–Great Computer Program for Writers and Students

Last November when I participated in my first NaNoWriMo, I tried out Scrivener, a writing program that was a sponsor for the event. As a perk for completing my word count and winning NaNoWriMo, I was able to purchase Scrivener at a discount. I would have purchased it anyway; I love it.

Click the picture to learn more about Scrivener. While you’re there, you can try out the free trial!

So what exactly is Scrivener? Here’s what their website has to say: Scrivener is a powerful content-generation tool for writers that allows you to concentrate on composing and structuring long and difficult documents. While it gives you complete control of the formatting, its focus is on helping you get to the end of that awkward first draft.  

I can’t imagine writing without it. Let me tell you why.

1. When you start a new writing project, you can choose Blank, Fiction, Non-Fiction, Scriptwriting, or Miscellaneous.  You don’t have to set up your format–Scrivener does it for you. So far I have only used Fiction, so that’s what I’ll cover.

2. When you choose Fiction it gives you three options: Novel, Novel with Parts, or Short Story. I really appreciate the short story format when I write Flash Fiction.

3. Whether you choose the Novel option or the Novel with Parts, it will take you to a screen with a ‘bulletin board’ and a chapter already started for you. As you write your chapters, you simply add to your bulletin board. Once you are in a chapter, you can add scenes. Your character, setting, and notes are on the left hand side of the screen and easy to see and access at any time. 

4. You can label your Chapters and Scenes with their status: To Do, First Draft, Revised Draft, Final Draft, Title, or Done. This is such a great resource when you’re in the editing phase.

5. When your story or novel is complete,  Scrivener will compile everything for you and save it as a Word document, pdf, web page, and more.  While I’m writing, I will compile large chunks of my book, compile it as a Word document, and then e-mail it to my husband’s Kindle. It reads just like a book. It’s an easy way for him to give me feedback.

As many of you know, I homeschool my children. We’re still in the low end of elementary, and aren’t ready for a program like this…yet.  What a great resource this will be when they’re older.

Click here for several tutorial videos if you want to learn more. The very first video is a great introductory.

I love this product, and that’s why I’m doing a review.  I’m receiving no compensation from Scrivener. 

One thought on “Scrivener Review–Great Computer Program for Writers and Students”

Leave a Reply

