The Turmoil that is Editing a Manuscript

Editing stinks.

That is all.

No, really–it makes me crazy. I’m really happy with the novel I wrote back in July, but after staring at my own words for way too long, I’ve had some pretty emotional moments. More than once I’ve cried to my husband that it’s the worst lump of words ever written, and I should delete the whole thing.

He rolls his eyes, and then he tells me it’s fine. I start to breath again and realize he’s most likely right. I’ll be more convinced when he actually reads it. Darling–read the book, already!

I’m at that part where I’m almost ready for beta readers, and my step-sister is chomping at the bit to start.

I’m terrified.

What if she hates it? What if she thinks it’s stupid? What if she hates fantasy and she thinks I’m stupid?

Seriously, no one ever mentioned the mental breakdown a writer goes through during the editing process.

No matter where I’m at with my manuscript, two weeks into October I’m setting the whole thing aside to plot my NaNoWriMo novel. Yes–it’s NaNo time again!

If it’s your dream to write a novel, but you’ve never attempted it, I wholeheartedly urge you to give NaNo a try. Then after you’re done, you can tackle the editing monster, too.  And what fun that is!

2 thoughts on “The Turmoil that is Editing a Manuscript”

Leave a Reply

