Cold-Weather Vegetable Soup with Minestrone Variation

I don’t post many of my own recipes, and that’s because I don’t usually measure. You know what I mean–I add a little of this and a little of that, and it’s hard to figure out just what it I’ve done exactly.

The great thing about soups is that you don’t have to be exact! Add what you have and substitute what you don’t.

VegetableSoup

Hearty Vegetable Soup

1/2 head of cabbage

6 carrots, peeled and chopped

1 head of celery, including leaves, chopped

I bag of frozen green beans (feel free to use fresh if you have them)

2 cans fire roasted tomatoes

2 32 oz containers chicken or vegetable broth

1 can kidney beans

1 1/2 tablespoons dried basil

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

Add everything to a large pot, bring to a boil, and then reduce heat to low. Simmer for several hours. This recipe makes lots of soup, and it tastes even better the second day!

This recipe is also perfect for making in the slow cooker.

Minestrone Soup Variation (my grandmother’s recipe)

Swap the chicken broth for beef and add a cup of small noodles at the end of the cook time. My grandmother’s minestrone soup was the best ever, and I love to make it and remember her. If you’re a vegetarian, feel free to use vegetable broth instead of beef.

Leave a Reply

