The Day After Christmas Mess

I don’t know about you, but my house looks like a Christmas tornado has blown through it. There’s boxes and toys everywhere, and this morning, before I did a quick sweep, there were still bits of discarded wrapping paper here and there. We have a lot of family to visit during the holidays, and our house becomes nothing more than a quick stop to pick up baked goods, stash our new gifts, and grab the ones that need to go out. By the time we get home on Christmas evening, the place is a wreck.

It’s not a lot of fun coming home to it, if I’m honest. The house is in desperate need of a deep cleaning, and all I want to do today is read a new book and maybe make a pot of soup so I can use my new soup mugs from my mother-in-law. I can’t even think about making soup until I can uncover my kitchen. I’m really thinking about doing all my cleaning today and then taking down my Christmas decorations early. I usually wait until New Years, but this year I think I might be done with it all.

One problem is that I don’t know what to do with all our new stuff. I don’t come by organizing naturally (except lists–I love lists), and I’m not sure what the best approach would be. I’m going to be combing Pinterest for organization ideas, and I just borrowed Organize Now! from Kindle Unlimited. Toys need tamed, sewing stuff needs a better home, and I won’t even go into my school cabinet. I was supposed to work on that cabinet way back last summer, but then I started working on my novel, and it never happened.

I want to get all this started so I can enjoy my very favorite month of the year–January. That beautiful month where it’s too cold do much outside, so you are forced to cuddle up and read and sew and write. Don’t get me wrong–I love being out and about in summer, but I really loved the forced calm of the winter months.

If you have any great organizational tips, be sure to let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

